Know Your Mouth

ProDentim9 min read

ProDentim ingredients: what the label actually says

The supplement facts panel, transcribed line by line from the manufacturer’s published label. What it discloses, what it pools, what it leaves out — and where it disagrees with the sales page.


Product review — and we have a financial interest. This page is part of our review of ProDentim, a product we earn a commission on. The single affiliate link on this website sits on the ProDentim review; buying through it costs you nothing extra. Nothing here is medical advice, and no part of this review was seen or paid for by the seller. Full affiliate and health disclosure.

The sales page shows you ingredients as artwork: scoops of powder, strawberries, a leaf. That is marketing. The regulated part is the supplement facts panel on the bottle, and it is a short document. Below is the whole of it, followed by what each line can and cannot tell you. The short version has not changed: the formula is reasonable, the label is not dishonest, and it is uninformative in the ways the industry treats as normal.

The label, transcribed

This is the panel as it appears in the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD entry 298948, entered 18 July 2023), which holds an image of the bottle label filed for the product distributed by Fyvus, Miami. Everything in the table is what the label states. We have read a published label. We have not sent a tablet to a laboratory, and nothing here is independently verified.

ProDentim supplement facts panel, transcribed from the label on file with the NIH DSLD
Panel lineAs printed
Serving size1 soft tablet
Servings per container30
Amount per servingProprietary Probiotic Blend (3.5 Billion CFU***) — 20 mg, % Daily Value: **
Blend contents, in printed orderLactobacillus paracasei, Lactobacillus reuteri, Bifidobacterium lactis BL-04 (printed on the label as “Bifodobacterium”)
Footnotes** Daily Value (DV) not established
*** Formulated with 3.5 billion CFU at the time of manufacture
Other ingredientsTricalcium phosphate, peppermint leaf, natural strawberry flavor, organic blue agave heart (Agave tequilana), stearic acid, mannitol, magnesium stearate, silicon dioxide, sucralose, microcrystalline cellulose
Suggested useTake one soft tablet, ideally after brushing teeth or using mouthwash. Allow tablets to completely dissolve in your mouth.
CautionDo not exceed more than 3 tablets per day; consult your healthcare provider before use, especially if pregnant, nursing, having a medical condition, taking medications, or have known adverse reactions or allergies.
Front-of-bottle claim“Clinically researched formula for: healthy teeth and gums*, long lasting fresh breath*, ear, nose and throat immune health*”
Seals“Third party tested”, GMP

Two things on that panel are not on the sales page, and two things on the sales page are not on that panel. We come back to both.

What the panel tells you Supplement Facts Serving size 1 soft tablet Servings per container 30 Amount per serving Proprietary probiotic blend (3.5 billion CFU***) 20 mg L. paracasei L. reuteri B. lactis BL-04 *** 3.5 bn CFU at time of manufacture Other ingredients Tricalcium phosphate, peppermint… Disclosed and specific Serving size · strain designation (one strain of three) Disclosed but pooled 3.5 bn CFU, one figure across three organisms Not stated Per-strain split CFU at expiry Strain codes for two of three
Fig. 1 — What the panel tells you, and the three things it does not. Green marks the lines that are specific enough to check: serving size, and the single strain that carries a designation. The CFU figure is disclosed but pooled across all three organisms. The per-strain split, the count at expiry, and the strain identity of two of the three organisms are not on the label.

Where this comes from, and how to check it yourself

The ingredient graphics on the sales page are not the label. They are illustrations, and they can say whatever the marketing department wants. The regulated panel is the one printed on the bottle, and in the United States it has to follow a fixed format under FDA rules for dietary supplements.

You do not need a bottle to read it. The Dietary Supplement Label Database, run by the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, holds label images for products sold in the US. Search the product name. The record shows the label as filed, with a date. It is a snapshot, not a live feed: the entry above was made in July 2023, and manufacturers change labels without notice. If your bottle differs, your bottle wins.

What the database cannot tell you is whether the tablet matches the label. Neither can we. Nobody writing about this product online has assayed it, as far as we can find, and anyone who implies they have should be asked for the certificate.

Where the label and the sales page disagree

The sales page lists a “proprietary blend of four plants and minerals”: inulin, malic acid, tricalcium phosphate and peppermint. The label on file lists tricalcium phosphate and peppermint leaf under other ingredients — the section for excipients and flavourings, with no amounts — and does not list inulin or malic acid at all. It lists natural strawberry flavour, blue agave, mannitol and sucralose instead.

There are two possible explanations. The formula changed after July 2023 and the database holds an old label, or the sales page describes ingredients the panel does not carry. This cannot be determined from what is published. If you own a bottle, the panel on it settles the question for that bottle. Until then, the honest position is that the two active ingredients the sales page gives the most words to — inulin as a prebiotic, malic acid for whitening — are not confirmed by the only label we can see.

What a label must disclose, and what it may leave out

A US supplement facts panel must give serving size, servings per container, and each dietary ingredient with its amount per serving. That is the rule for single ingredients. For a proprietary blend, the rule is looser: the blend is listed with its total weight, the ingredients inside it are listed in descending order of weight, and the individual amounts may be withheld. That is a legal choice, and manufacturers make it routinely.

This label makes it. “Proprietary Probiotic Blend, 20 mg” is the disclosed total. The three organisms inside are listed without amounts. “3.5 billion CFU” is a combined count for the blend. All of this is compliant. None of it tells you how much of any one organism is in the tablet.

The descending-order rule does give you one clue. Printed order is by weight, so L. paracasei is the heaviest component and BL-04 the lightest — but since cell size and CFU-per-milligram vary between species, weight order is not CFU order. Another thing the label lets you nearly infer, and then does not.

A per-strain disclosure would look like this, and some products print it:

Illustration of what a per-strain CFU disclosure looks like, with hypothetical figures
OrganismPer-strain disclosure (illustrative)ProDentim label
L. paracasei [strain code]x billion CFUnot stated
L. reuteri [strain code]y billion CFUnot stated
B. lactis BL-04z billion CFUnot stated
Totalx + y + z3.5 billion CFU

The letters are placeholders, not estimates. We have no basis for guessing the split, and neither does anyone else outside the manufacturer. A formula could be almost entirely the cheapest organism with a token amount of the other two, and the label would read identically. That is the whole problem with a pooled figure: it is legal and uninformative at the same time.

CFU at manufacture versus CFU at expiry

Probiotics are alive, and they die on the shelf. Every count on every probiotic label is true at one moment, and the label should say which. There are two honest choices. A count at the time of manufacture is the number of live organisms that went in. A count through expiry is a guarantee that at least that many will still be alive on the last day of the shelf life, which means the manufacturer put in more than the printed number to cover the decline.

ProDentim’s label does specify. The footnote reads “formulated with 3.5 billion CFU at the time of manufacture”. That is the first kind. The number printed is the number that went into the tablet on the day it was made. The number in the tablet you chew is lower. By how much depends on the strains, the packaging, the months since manufacture and the temperature of every warehouse and van it has been through, and none of that is on the label. It is lower by an unknowable margin, and it is worth saying plainly that a label which stated the timepoint at all is doing better than many that do not.

Why strain names matter more than species names

This is the single most useful thing to understand before reading any probiotic label.

Probiotic effects are strain-specific. “Lactobacillus reuteri” is a species containing many strains, and they do not do the same things. A studied strain carries a designation — letters and numbers after the species name — and research on that designation does not transfer to any other member of the species.

ProDentim names three organisms. Only one carries a strain designation. For the other two, no published strain research can be attributed to what is in the tablet, because the label does not say what is in the tablet. Some sites reviewing the product attach strain codes to the other two organisms. Those codes are not on the label, and we do not repeat them.

The three probiotic organisms

B. lactis BL-04®

The only fully specified organism in the formula, and a trademarked commercial strain, which means it has a documented identity and published research behind it. That research has largely looked at immune and respiratory outcomes rather than gum health.

That detail explains something on the sales page. The claim that ProDentim “targets your respiratory system” — and the “ear, nose and throat immune health” line on the bottle itself — almost certainly traces back to BL-04’s research history. But those studies used swallowed doses aimed at the gut and immune system, not a tablet you dissolve in your mouth for oral benefit. Credibility does not transfer between delivery routes.

Lactobacillus reuteri

Species only, no strain given. Certain L. reuteri strains have reasonable published support as an adjunct in gum inflammation — used alongside professional cleaning, with modest additional benefit. That is a genuine result, and it is strain-specific. Without a strain designation, you cannot tell whether the one in this tablet is among them, and the result cannot be claimed for it.

Lactobacillus paracasei

Species only again. Some supportive research exists around oral health, generally thinner and less specific to gum outcomes than the reuteri work.

No trial exists on this formula

There is no published trial of the finished ProDentim tablet. The label says “clinically researched formula”; the research it refers to is on ingredients, mostly on other strains, at other doses, by other routes. Anyone citing a trial of ProDentim is citing a trial of something else. We checked all fourteen references on the sales page, and that is what we found.

The four supporting ingredients

These are the four the sales page names. As noted above, only two of them appear on the label we can see, and those two appear as other ingredients rather than as actives.

IngredientWhat it isWhat it can reasonably doOn the filed label?
InulinPrebiotic fibre from plantsFeeds bacteria — a sensible partner to a probiotic. Also a FODMAP, and the most likely source of any bloating.No
Malic acidFruit acid, present in strawberriesMild acids do loosen surface stain. This is stain removal, not whitening, and it is an acid held in the mouth.No
Tricalcium phosphateA calcium mineralCalcium and phosphate are what enamel is rebuilt from, so the rationale is real. Whether an undisclosed amount in a chewable achieves anything is a separate question.Yes — under other ingredients, no amount
PeppermintHerb, used for flavourMakes a daily tablet pleasant, and has mild antimicrobial activity. Mostly it is flavour.Yes — as peppermint leaf, under other ingredients

The label adds two sweeteners the sales page does not mention: mannitol, a sugar alcohol, and sucralose. Mannitol in quantity is another plausible source of bloating, alongside inulin if inulin is present.

What is not in it

Worth noting, because absence is information too.

  • No xylitol. This is the conspicuous one. Xylitol is a sugar alcohol with a better-established record for reducing cavity-causing bacteria than most ingredients in this formula, and it appears in plenty of oral-health chewables and gums. The label confirms it: the sweeteners are mannitol and sucralose. Its absence from a chewable marketed for teeth is a genuine gap — our xylitol article covers what the evidence does and does not support.
  • No fluoride, which is expected — it belongs in toothpaste, not a swallowed or chewed supplement.
  • No named formulator. The page says “doctor-formulated” and names no doctor. The label names a distributor, Fyvus of Miami, and no manufacturer or formulator. An unattributed credential is not a credential.

How to read any oral probiotic label

This is a checklist for the panel on the bottle. It is a different job from auditing a reference list, which is about whether the cited papers say what they are used to say. Do both; they catch different things.

  • Strain designations: present or absent? A species name alone (“L. reuteri”) cannot be matched to any study. A code after it (“DSM 17938”, “BL-04”) can. Count how many organisms have one. ProDentim: one of three.
  • CFU per strain, or combined? Per strain lets you compare to a trial dose. A single pooled figure does not. ProDentim: combined.
  • CFU timepoint stated? Look for “at time of manufacture” or “through expiry”. No statement means you cannot know which. ProDentim: at time of manufacture, which means the count you take is lower.
  • Prebiotic included, and where on the panel? A prebiotic listed as an active with an amount is a formulation decision. One listed under other ingredients, or on the sales page only, is not something you can weigh. ProDentim: inulin on the sales page, not on the filed label.
  • Formulator or manufacturer named? A label must name a distributor. It need not name who made it or who designed it. ProDentim: distributor only.
  • Structure/function claims or disease claims? “Supports healthy gums*” with an asterisk to the FDA disclaimer is a structure/function claim, which is permitted and unproven by definition. “Treats gum disease” would be a disease claim, which a supplement may not make. ProDentim’s bottle stays on the permitted side. That is a statement about regulation, not about evidence.
  • Does the format keep it in the mouth? A dissolving tablet is the right delivery for an oral probiotic; the colonisation argument is that contact time matters more than volume. ProDentim: yes.

So is the formula sensible?

Yes, broadly — a probiotic in a chewable format that keeps the bacteria where you want them, which is the right delivery for oral health. If the inulin the sales page describes is in the tablet, it is a sensible partner. It is a coherent idea, competently assembled.

What it is not is remarkable, and it cannot support the claims made for it: 3.5 billion CFU at manufacture is a modest dose that is smaller by the time you take it, two of the three organisms are unspecified, the split between them is undisclosed, two of the four supporting ingredients are not on the label we can see, and nothing here has been shown to affect your sinuses, allergies, sleep or digestion. The label is not dishonest. It is uninformative, and uninformative in ways the industry treats as normal. Those are different findings, and the difference matters.

For how the product tolerates in practice, see side effects. For the category rather than the brand, see do oral probiotics actually work?

Read the full ProDentim review →

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. This page is information, not medical advice. This page carries no affiliate link; the review does, and says so.